New Rural Development Plan implemented in three regions

Authorities in the southeast, south-central and highlands regions are hard at work implementing the New Rural Development Plan.

Management hosted a meeting on March 24 in Da Lat Town to create a three-year plan. Deputy Prime Minister Vu Van Ninh, agency representatives and governments of 19 cities and provinces in the three regions participated in the meeting.

The New Rural Development Plan aims to upgrade agricultural techniques, improve farmers’ living standards, and develop rural infrastructure. Authorities in these regions have invested heavily on basic infrastructure including irrigation, traffic, clean water supply, school, market and cultural house construction.

The southeast region has 27 communes growing rubber, cashew and pepper. The south-central region has two communes building large boats and aquatic breeding farms. The highlands have 13 communes with forestry, industrial crops, and cattle farms as the main subsistence.

The federal government and local administration will support residents financially to purchase seeds and advanced agriculture techniques. They will work closely with companies and farmers to ensure peek consumption.

Deputy Prime Minister Ninh emphasized that the plan is an important mission. Local governments should be trained when appealing for social contribution.

By Binh Nguyen - Translated by Uyen Phuong

Other news