Vietnam, Indonesia to co-host 2010 regional football cup

The Asean Football Federation (AFF) on April 20 selected Vietnam and Indonesia to co-host the 2010 AFF Suzuki Cup, while Malaysia was named the stand-by venue for the regional championships.

Vietnam won the Southeast Asia AFF Suzuki Cup for the first time in Dec. 2008 (Photo: SGGP)

Eight teams, including defending champions Vietnam, will compete in the tournament during December 2010.

As in recent years, Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar and Singapore will not play the qualifying round. The other two teams will be the qualifier survivors. The qualifying round is scheduled to take place in Laos and three teams from Laos, Cambodia and the Philippines will take part.

In a related development, during a recent meeting, Australia submitted to the AFF an application form to become a member. The regional football governing body has not approved it yet.

Also on April 20, the Football Association of Malaysia appointed national Under 23 coach K. Rajagobal as national football coach as the country desperately tries to revive its flagging fortunes on the field, Malaysia’s New Straits Times paper reported

Malaysia sacked B. Sathianathan as coach in February, less than two weeks after the team lost to the United Arab Emirates in 2011 Asian Cup qualifying.

Malaysia were also soundly beaten by the UAE on January 21, going down 5-0, and in December they crashed out of the Southeast Asia AFF Suzuki Cup in the group stages.

By Tuong Van

Other news

Most view