New CPC Top Leadership Line-up Unveiled

The newly-elected top leadership of the Communist Party of China (CPC), with four new faces added to the all-powerful Standing Committee of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee, Monday promised to "serve the people wholeheartedly" and "promote social equity and justice", reported China Daily.

Chinese President Hu Jintao waves after introducing the communist party's new leadership team during a press conference at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing, October 22, 2007.

Hu Jintao, 64, was reelected Party chief for a second five-year term at the first plenum of the 17th CPC Central Committee, which was attended by the 204 members and 166 alternate members.

The central committee was elected at the end of the seven-day 17th National Congress of the CPC on Sunday.

Xi Jinping, Li Keqiang, He Guoqiang and Zhou Yongkang joined the nine-member Standing Committee. The others are Hu, Wu Bangguo, Wen Jiabao, Jia Qinglin and Li Changchun.

Before taking over as Party chief of Shanghai earlier this year, Xi, 54, was the top Party official in Zhejiang Province and the governor of Fujian.

Li Keqiang, 52, is the youngest among the newly-elected. He was the governor of Henan before becoming Party chief of Liaoning.

Hu led the new leadership line-up in the Great Hall of the People and introduced the new members to the media Monday.

"Both Xi and Li are relatively younger comrades," Hu said.

He Guoqiang, 63, has established a reputation for his tough stance against corruption since taking over the Organization Department of the CPC Central Committee in 2002. He becomes head of the Party's Central Commission for Discipline Inspection.

Zhou serves as the minister of public security and the first commissar of the Armed Police Force.

In his speech, which was televised live nationwide, Hu vowed to do the best "to be worthy of the great trust" of all Party members and live up to the expectations of people.

"We will be firmly committed to development, which is the Party's top priority in governing and rejuvenating the country, concentrate on construction and development, make all-round progress in developing the socialist market economy, socialist democracy, an advanced socialist culture and a harmonious socialist society, and strive for scientific development by putting people first and making it comprehensive, balanced and sustainable," Hu said.

He also promised to press ahead with the reform and opening-up, serve the people wholeheartedly and adhere to scientific, democratic and law-based governance.

"We will pursue an independent foreign policy of peace and unswervingly follow the path of peaceful development and a win-win strategy of opening-up.

"We will develop friendship and cooperation with all other countries on the basis of the Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence and push for the building of a harmonious world of lasting peace and common prosperity," he added.

Apart from the nine-member Standing Committee, 16 others were named to the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee. Among those newly elevated are Beijing Mayor Wang Qishan, Commerce Minister Bo Xilai, Jiangsu Party Secretary Li Yuanchao, Tianjin Party Secretary Zhang Gaoli, Chongqing Party Secretary Wang Yang and Vice-Chairman of the Central Military Commission Xu Caihou.

Liu Yandong, 61, is the only woman in the Political Bureau. She is the vice-chairwoman of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, the top advisory body.

Hu was also named chairman of the Central Military Commission of the CPC at the first plenary session Monday. Guo Boxiong and Xu Caihou were named vice-chairmen.

Hu met military delegates to the Party Congress last night.

Other news