Putin hands top Kremlin posts to former Ministers

President Vladimir Putin on Tuesday appointed a string of former ministers as his advisers, a day after unveiling his new government made up largely of long-time loyalists.

dimir Putin addresses the new government in the Kremlin on Monday, May 21.

Former Health Minister Tatyana Golikova, former Education Minister Sergei Fursenko, former Economy Minister Elvira Nabiullina, former Communications and Media Minister Igor Shchegolev, former Natural Resources Minister Yury Trutnev, and former Transport Minister Igor Levitin were made presidential aides following an executive decree signed by Putin. Former government deputy chief of staff Yury Ushakov was also made an aide. 

Presidential advisors Larisa Brycheva and Konstantin Chuichenko retained their posts. Sergei Prikhodko, former President Dmitry Medvedev's top foreign policy aide, lost his job.

Medvedev shifted to the post of prime minister after four years in the Kremlin earlier this month. 

Putin's long-serving press secretary Dmitry Peskov was granted the additional position of deputy Kremlin chief of staff. Peskov reportedly said protesters who he accused of violence at protests prior to Putin's May 7 inaugurations "should have had their livers smeared on the sidewalk."

Putin ally and former Defense Minister Sergei Ivanov kept his job as chief of the presidential administration, as did Security Council Secretary General Nikolai Patrushev. Unpopular ex-Interior Minister Rashid Nurgaliyev was appointed his deputy after losing his job on Monday. He was dismissed following a series of high-profile violent crimes committed by police officers.

But another ally, former deputy prime minister Igor Sechin, was not granted a post in the new administation. However, he is set to maintain influence over energy policy after Putin nominated him to the board of the main state energy holding company on his last day as prime minister.

Source: AFP

Other news