7 more provinces to receive free rice for Tet Lunar New Year

Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung has ordered the Ministry of Finance to provide nearly 10,000 tons of rice from the national stock, for free distribution in 7 more provinces in Vietnam.

The 7 provinces named were the northern provinces of Lai Chau and Thanh Hoa, highland provinces of Kon Tum, Dak Lak, and the central provinces of Binh Dinh, Quang Nam and Phu Yen. Nearly 10,000 tons of rice will be distributed to the poor in these 7 provinces during Tet Lunar New Year.

The Prime Minister particularly asked the provincial people’s committees to see that rice is distributed to persons who are in dire need of food supplies, and who are unable to even afford a proper daily meal.

So far, 21 provinces have received free rice for Tet Lunar New Year. Earlier, poor people in the northern province of Lao Cai and Cao Bang, the central provinces of Nghe An, Quang Ngai and Ha Tinh had been provided with more than 12,000 tons of rice.

By L. Nguyen - Translated by Phuong Uyen

Other news