EVN brings nine power plants online

State-run Vietnam Electricity Group (EVN) will add nine electric power plants in 2009 with total output of 2.969MW. 

Construction of the Dong Nai 3 Hydroelectricity Plant in Dak Nong province (Photo: SGGP)
The new plants, combined with existing plants, will help create a capacity of 74.68 million kWh, up 13 percent from 2008.
The new plants are: the hydroelectricity plants of Buon Kuop and Buon Tua Sa in the central highlands province of Daklak, Pleikrong and Sesan 4 in central highlands province of Kon Tum, Ba Ha River in south central coastal province of Phu Yen, and thermoelectricity plants Quang Ninh in northeastern coastal province of Quang Ninh, Hai Phong in Hai Phong seaport city and O Mon 1 in the western capital city of Can Tho.
EVN will also set up four thermoelectricity plants with a total output of 3.8MW. These are Nghi Son, north central coastal province of Thanh Hoa, Mong Duong 1 in Quang Ninh province, Duyen Hai in the Mekong Delta province of Tra Vinh and Vinh Tan 2 in the southeastern costal province of Binh Thuan.
Other scheduled projects by EVN in 2009 include 220 smaller electricity projects of 110-220-500kv and the completion of stage 2 of ‘Power in rural areas’ to provide electricity to highland villages in the Central Highlands and Khmer people in the Mekong Delta provinces of Soc Trang and Tra Vinh.

By D.Thanh – Translated by Truong Son

Other news