World Cup qualified teams

PARIS, Nov 18, 2009 (AFP) - The qualification picture for next year's World Cup in South Africa after Wednesday's European zone matches and ahead of the last qualifer between Uruguay and Costa Rica:

(32 nations will take part in the tournament):

Europe Zone

Netherlands, England, Spain, Germany, Denmark, Serbia, Italy, Switzerland, Slovakia, Greece, Slovenia, Portugal, France

Asia Zone

Japan, Australia, South Korea, North Korea

Africa Zone

South Africa (as hosts), Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Cameroon, Algeria

South America Zone

Brazil, Paraguay, Chile, Argentina


Uruguay v Costa Rica (1-0)

North America Zone

Mexico, United States, Honduras

Oceania Zone

New Zealand

French national football team coach Raymond Domenech (3dR) speaks with defender William Gallas (2dR) next to Swedish referee Martin Hansson (L) during a extra-time break of the World Cup 2010 qualifying football match France vs. Republic of Ireland on November 18 (AFP photo)

Source: AFP

Other news