Myanmar, Singapore in Hanoi for ASEAN football c’ships

Three-time ASEAN champions Singapore arrived in Hanoi Sunday, one day after Myanmar, for Group B of the Southeast Asian championships scheduled for December 2-8.

Members of the Myanmar national team arrive at Hanoi’s Noi Bai Airport on Nov. 27, 2010 (Photo: Vietnam Football Federation)

The Philippines are due to come on Nov. 30, two days before their first game against the Lions, who completed their preparations for the AFF Suzuki Cup with a 4-0 win over qualifiers Laos on Friday in Singapore.

Singapore coach Raddy Avramovic named his 22 men Saturday – three goalkeepers, eight defenders, seven midfielders and four strikers.

Skipper Aleksandar Duric, 40, is among the forwards. Meanwhile, Chinese-born Shi Jiayi was not included.

Vietnam coach Henrique Calisto had not named his 22 men by Saturday. However, star striker Le Cong Vinh, who scored the goal against Thailand that secured the title for Vietnam in December 2008, cannot serve the defending champions’ title campaign as he is recovering from surgery -- treatment for his injury. “Golden boy” Pham Van Quyen is absent for the same reason. 

Striker Nguyen Viet Thang may not serve in Vietnam's first game vs. Singapore on Dec. 2 due to his injury.

Meanwhile, the Group A stage is scheduled for Dec. 1-8 in Jakarta for Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia and Laos.

The semifinals and finals will be played on a home and away basis like in 2008. The semifinals are set for Dec. 15-19, while the finals will be played on Dec. 26 and Dec. 29.

Laos and the Philippines survived October’s qualifying round, while Cambodia and Timor Leste failed. 

Singapore quad

Goalkeepers: Hassan Sunny, Lionel Lewis, Izwan Mahbud

Defenders: Daniel Bennett, Baihakki Khaizan, Juma'at Jantan, Rosman Sulaiman, Noh Rahman, Precious Emuejeraye, Afiq Yunos, Safuwan Baharudin

Midfielders: Ridhuan Muhamad, Isa Halim, Fazrul Nawaz, Masrezwan Masturi, Mustafic Fahrudin, Shahril Ishak, Shahdan Sulaiman

Forwards: Noh Alam Shah, Aleksandar Duric, Agu Casmir, Khairul Amri

Group A: Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Laos
Group B: Vietnam, Singapore, Myanmar, Philippines

By Khanh Van

Other news